[Hotel Review] The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel

I am so happy that Accor took over this property, and just in time!

With SPG and Shang properties in HK looking surprisingly dismal for a combination of factors, I decided to focus on Accor properties for this trip to buff up my Accor membership. Frankly speaking, none of the Novotel properties stood out. And no Sofitel choices either. So I literally jumped for joy when I spotted this recently rebranded and refurbished Park Lane (its old name) property.

Address – 310 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong. Website. Tel: (+852)22938888.

Price – An average of HKD2,812 per night for the Park Lane Suite (including Lounge access), x 3 nights amounting to total: HDK9,282. And this is with the Accor Booking Festival at 40% which happened on 11 November 2016. I wouldn’t book this room otherwise as it is definitely, really, certainly expensive (and this was the only room type on sale during the promo).

Location –Fantastic location for someone like me who hasn’t visited since 2002. a fantstic base for exploring – its just about 2 mins walk from Causeway Bay MTR Station Exit E and plenty of malls, eateries, street stuff going on all around. Unfortunately this also means there is plenty of weaving in between human traffic and basically just wedging yourself wherever there is space, especially when you are waiting for traffic lights to turn in your favour.

Prior To Arrival – I emailed to ask for early check in and late check out due to my very awkward flight timings and was told it was subject to availabiliy, which was the norm of course. Within that same email I was told of the varying charges to gaurantee my requests. But I was actually secretly hoping they will accommodate as I think not many people books the suite because its just so expensive without a promo!

Getting There – It was quite easy: I bought a Airport Express Pass + 3Day MTR unlimited travel for HKD250. Then took the Airport Express train to Hong Kong station, where I hopped on the free Shuttle Bus H2 which takes me directly to the hotel’s doorstep (Stop no.5 – announcements are made in Chinese, Cantonese and English + a LCD display text – you won’t get lost for sure). If you are unsure if your hotel is one of the allocated stops via the free shuttle, just grab a map at the booth near where you purchase the Airport Express Pass. The whole journey from Airport to hotel took me about slightly less than 1 hour.

Check In – I went to the Accor priority desk and the friendly staff took the initiative to ask if I would like to check in at the lounge. A nice welcoming start to the trip (most hotels don’t carry through with this process and conveniently checks you in at the main lobby instead). I picked the lounge of course and was swiftly ushered up to the 22nd floor where the Lounge is located. I was offered some drinks (including beer at 11:30am in the morning) and managed to have some cookies while waiting for the paperwork. The lady who checked me in, Wing, was impossibly polite and meticulously brought me through the Executive benefits with a smile. I was also informed that I have the room until 5pm on the day of my check out (yayyy!) – points for good guest service for Accor members! Plus, my suite was on the same floor (more yays to not needing a lift to grab my favourite sparkling water or black coffee).

Room – My Park Lane Suite was 2202, and it was just super super spacious at 66SqM. An almost ‘artsy’ looking living room which contains a lon sofa and 1 swivelling chair, a guest bathroom, a working table + chair, a large TV, and the mini bar. And then there’s the spotlessly clean master bedroom with a plush king bed, another large TV, a huge bathroom that includes a huge bathtub, and double sinks (no more waiting to brush teeth!). My only grouse is that the toilet and shower compartments in the master bathroom could have had frosted glass panels so guests can multi task. But that’s a minor minor thing.

Executive Lounge – My favourite place during the stay! Wing who checked me in was faultlessly polite and patiently went through the entire list of benefits before ushering me to my room. What was unusual was that they serve beer too outside of cocktails hours from 6 – 8pm: definitely a yay especially for my beer-guzzling mother. Not particularly big but the choice of comfy velvet chairs made cosy chilling easier. Afternoon tea consists of scones, chips, and nuts and coffee / tea – okay to miss for me. Bites during cockail hours were not the most extensive: cheeses, dim sum, chicken skwewers, and 1 dessert. If you eat enough of them, it’ll probably make for a good light dinner. And service was almost impeccable throughout my stay, consistently with both the ang moh and local staff.  Never once did I felt I was being treated less well because I am Singaporean chinese and a non-business traveller. I even managed to get help from them on a massgae place to check out right opposite the hotel, and they made a booking for me on the spot. Pullman must be training these guys right!

Breakfast – Executive level guests are only allowed to have breakfast at the lounge and not Playt which I was hoping for (never quite understood this logic though). The spread was fairly okay at the Lounge, and an ala carte menu is presented to you for your eggs and toast orders. Really busy though so come early! My fav is the avocado toast – simple, healthy, yet delicious~

In-Room Dining – I ordered an extorbitant wanton mee one night (I know, I know) at HDK148++ and it was not nice. But we needed something light and hot and soupy so we made do.

Ebb and Flow – As an Accor Silver, I recieved 2 welcome drink vouchers redeemable at Ebb and Flow, their very popular high tea spot in Causeway Bay. Servcice was a little bit haphazard but the drink list includes a selection of beers which was nice.

Service – Service was excellent throughout my stay I have to say. Front desk, Accor priority, Lounge, housekeeping, in-room dining, check out, bellman. ALL OF THEM. I’m really impressed. On my first night, during turn down, I even recieved a bottle of red wine, some valhrona chocolates, and a ig fruit platter – all complimentary. I never got to find out is it because mine was a suite, or the hotel extends this gestures to all guests. Gestures like these makes the hotel stand out 🙂

Facilities – I randomly checked out the gym and Sky Garden but didnt actually use them. No pool or steam / sauna facilities – a bit strange for a 5-star property.

Check Out -Fast and efficiently done at the Lounge. Requested for help for my 4 pieces of luggage to be brought down to the lobby as they were not light and also done fairly quickly.

Improvements – I wished they allow Executive level guests to experience breakfast at Playt as I usually prefer variety and the bustling atmosphere at the main restaurant. And please put in a pool / steam room / sauna soon!

An excellent property in Hong Kong, but very pricey. Stalk Accor’s sales periods to get a good deals and at least a refurbished room as I understand the non-reburbished ones are really looking dated. This was definitely one of the highlights of my trip and I don’t regret splurging on it :)))

Leave a Reply